Argentina Beaches



    With the second longest Atlantic coastline (after Brazil) in South America, Argentina is a land of climatic diversity. From the warm, grassy pampas in the north, to the sub-Arctic Tierra del Fuego in the far south, it runs the gamut from hot to cold. And with 40% of its population living in the capital city of Buenos Aires, the outlying areas, such as desolate, yet beautiful, Patagonia, are very sparsely populated.

    A country of contrasts, Argentina boasts a burgeoning wine industry, other major forms of agriculture including wheat and cattle, and a strong tourism sector. It seems to have stabilized after years of civil strife and political upheaval (who can forget Juan and Eva Peron!), plus a fruitless war effort at taking the offshore Falkland Islands from the United Kingdom. Thanks to some settling of issues, Argentina has worked at bringing tourists to its Atlantic beaches and capitalizing on the western world’s need for sun, sand and surf.

    Argentina is now a fairly predictable getaway. Colonized by the Spanish who arrived in the 1500s after making their claims in Peru, the country still has a largely European ethnicity, primarily Italian and Spanish, the result of a large influx of immigrants in the early 1900s. The culture is decidedly European and therefore attracts tourists from Europe and Canada, perhaps more than America.

    Bordering to the north and east with Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil and Uruguay, Argentina shares its long western border with Chile, marked by the Andes Mountains. Argentina’s Atlantic coast is ragged, compared to Brazil’s more even one, and it is therefore geographically interesting. The beaches of Argentina are varied, from white sandy swaths that are miles long to rugged, rocky stretches with wild surf.

    More than 40,000,000 people call Argentina home, and they are increasingly aware of the importance of tourism to the country’s fiscal well-being. They welcome tourists and attend the beaches in droves themselves. Divided into 23 provinces and one politically separate capital (the city of Buenos Aires), there are five provinces on the Atlantic coast: Buenos Aires, Rio Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego.

    This page loaded in 0.00616 seconds.